Sign in to follow this  
caribou

Hyperion or Nightmare to start with?

Hi

I'm new to incursion and id like to start doing them with you. I was wondering which one i would go for to start with? Hyperion or Nightmare

i'm usually running combat site with my domi and snipe at 100km with sentries..so at 1st i was thinking Nightmare so i can stay at range...but the group might not need that alot..

thanks

Cari

Hi Cari, 

So, the Hyperion is a starter ship it’s a non-optimal hull. 

The Nightmare is an Optimal Hull. 

The upgrade policy asks you to switch from a non- to a optimal after 30hrs in fleet. 

So if the skill training is about equal, I’d say go for the Nightmare and hit training for t2 Pulse lasers straight away if you can  

Id you have any more questions or thoughts hit me up in a in-game mail and I’ll try and help best I can  

welcome again, Lefath Blue

Think the biggest difference is the Hyperion is a non optimal ship, the nightmare is a optimal ship.

So said the Nightmare will probably need more Skillpoints and is more expensive. But you will be better to upgrade since you just need to upgrad the hull.

But in the long term, both the vindicator and nightmare will need roughly the same Skillpoints.

So long story short: Just use what you like. Laserbot with long range or web/shortrange vindi

ok cool, and between vindi and nightmare, what is needed the most? let say in % for usefull and needed for each? bc if i have to i can learn it

since it is around 1.2B each for starter fit i can have both :)

As a vindi you could start with a Hyperion first to try incursions out. there are btw also other starter battleships which need less skills then the optimals

And lets say there are usually more vindis in fleet then nightmares but also more vindis on waitlist then nightmares. 

If i should answer your question with my gut feeling i feel that a nightmare gets faster in the fleet then a vindicator right now.